Are you in need? Part two

I was told at the Southwest Christian Writers Conference that blogging was a great tool for my career as a writer.  They promised it would help me improve my writing skills as well as build a following of readers.  (BTW, thanks to those of you who are reading this post!)  But I’m not sure I have the knack for blogging.  I started out with an exciting number of views per post and those numbers are dwindling each week.  So I am either boring my readers with my content and style or I’m far too wordy.  Hopefully you’ll tell me which and I can improve as I go along.    There is an art to writing that keeps people turning the page and wanting more.  Pray for me as I learn to develop this art.  Until then, let’s continue our topic of being in need and do something different today.

I’m going to ask you questions.  You can answer here if you want but it’s not necessary. They are written only to provoke a deeper understanding of our needs and how we choose to satisfy them.

  • When you wake each morning, do you ask God for strength to get out of bed and to make it through the day?
  • Do you depend on Him to guide your agenda for the entire day?
  • Do you then ask God for wisdom to know how to care for your body:  what to eat, how to dress, and how much to exercise?
  • Do you rely on Him to give you the words to speak to your family, friends, and co-workers?
  • Do you ask Him to fill you with love before you greet your spouse and children each day?
  • You will face difficult people today, enemies who hate you, they plan to destroy you; therefore did you ask God to protect you?

If in these first six questions, you are not depending upon God Almighty to be your strength to function throughout the day, your guide for each decision you face, the wisdom to care for your body, the very words you speak, the love that comes only from Him and the protection for your life; then you are in great need.  Without Him you are running on empty and you will crash and believe me, it won’t be pretty.  I’ve been there and done that.

Let’s go on and think about how we respond to living daily in this fallen world.

  • If you’re feeling a bit sluggish or sick, where do you go: the coffee pot, stashed sweets, medicine cabinet or the Word of God?
  • When you’re discouraged and saddened, who do you call:  your friends, pastor or mentor, or Jesus?
  • You’re running late, do you: yell louder at your family; drive faster; scream and/or throw something; or stop to pray for His patience?
  • Today is payday and there is not enough to pay the bills let alone buy food for the family.  Where do you go for help:  call family or friends, church, government agencies, or to the Lord?
  • Devastating news hits you hard, what is your first response:  fear, anger, hopelessness, or praise to Him for being in control no matter what happens?
  • Life is just a boring drudgery for you.  You just want some excitement.  Do you: lose yourself in the world of media, immerse yourself in sports or hobbies, whine and complain constantly, seek pleasure through sinful actions, or spend all your free time in the Word with the Lord?

In these last six questions you need to choose Him.  He is the Great Physician, the Comforter, the Prince of Peace, Jehovah Jireh, the Sovereign Lord, and He is THE I AM THAT I AM.  Jesus said without the Father, He could do nothing.  Amazing isn’t it.  Jesus knew His need.  But we deny ours?

The final question:  If you are not depending on God, then who or what is meeting your needs?

Trust me as one who spent my early teen and adult years confident I had no needs I couldn’t satisfy on my own, you and I need God every second of every day for as long as we live on this earth.  He is our I AM:  everything we will ever need.

Your prayer tip for today is this:  Ask Him to show you your daily need for Him and then to show you how much He desires to meet that need.  In order to hear the voice of God, you need to be asking the right questions.  Believe me, this one He wants to answer. He desires to be your All in All.  Sit quietly each day before Him in His Word and let His Spirit work.

Leave a Reply

