Christmas is over…not!

Christmas is over.  Well, at least that’s what they want you to believe.  It’s hard to define the ones we call ‘they’.  I would love to blame the economists who have already put out Valentine, Easter, and spring merchandise in the stores.  But I can’t.  Because I’m part of the ‘they’ group.  I have fallen prey once again to the influences of society.   Here’s how I discovered this truth.

Our last meal with family before leaving West Virginia was at Cracker Barrel.  As I walked in the store a panoramic view revealed Easter to the left, Valentine front and center, and spring to the right.  Christmas was in the far corner with clearance signs marked 50 to 75% off.  My brain registered, Christmas is over for another year.

We arrived home and my first thought was something like this, “I have to get rid of all these Christmas decorations.”  Even though I was sick, within an hour of being home, I had packed everything and carried it out to the breezeway for Mike to put into the shed.  I sat on the couch wrapped in my electric blanket (yes, it’s cold in the desert) and my brain breathed a sign, Christmas is over for another year.

“Christmas is not over” were the words that the Holy Spirit spoke into my heart as I awoke this morning.  I started to argue the point based upon the calendar’s date.  But I knew better.  Instead, I listened.  The words from the prologue in John’s Gospel began to flood my brain.  The Word became flesh and dwelt among us. The Word became flesh and dwelt among us. It soon turned into a song.  The Word became flesh and dwelt among us and we beheld His glory. I knew then it was time to understand what John was revealing in that all-important opening line.

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.  He was with God in the beginning.  John 1:1-2

To best introduce Jesus, John takes us back to the beginning where there was just God. That truth alone eliminates all confusion as to who Jesus is but John was also telling us to know Jesus we must start in Genesis and know the word of God in its entirety.

Let’s skip across scripture and see what is said about the word of God.  In Genesis 1 it is the very word spoken by God that created the universe into being.  Abraham’s covenant was given by the word. (Gen. 15:1)  The laws were established and the giving of the Ten Commandments by the word. (Ex. 24:3-4; Deut. 5:5) It was the word that spoke to the prophets (Joel 1:1 only one example of many) and determined the closeness of God’s relationship with His people (I Sam. 3:1).  The word also is the guidance and enlightenment to men. (Ps. 17:4; 119:105)  God’s word was used to create, (Ps. 33:6) heal, (Ps. 107:20) command, (Ps. 147:15) destroy enemies, (Ps. 147:18) and fulfill all His purposes. (Isa. 55:10-11)

John makes an incredible proclamation.  He claims in verse 14 that this very word became flesh and dwelt among us and we have seen His glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth. In verse 18 he concludes the prologue with naming this Son of grace and truth as no other than Jesus Christ.  John is determined that the church doesn’t miss this truth so he records it again in 1 John 1:1 and then in Revelation 19:13.  The earth as we know it will end with The Word of God riding forth from Glory for His final battle over evil.  Amen, so be it for the Word has spoken.

Therefore, this morning I went out to the breezeway, dug through the boxes, and found my favorite crèche.  It’s sitting on the end table by my love seat.  I’m defying the world-view that tells me Christmas is just a holiday we celebrate once a year.  Every day when I look at that nativity scene, that little babe in the manger, I am going to conquer another influence of this pagan society.  Christmas is not over.

In light of this revelation, I am determined to never again say that Christmas is over.  To me that would be saying the Word has ended or maybe put on hold until next December.  No, I’m going to daily view the nativity scene as a constant reminder that His Word never ends.  The words and deeds of Jesus are the words and deeds of God Himself.   All He has spoken in the prophecies and promises to the church will be fulfilled exactly as He spoke it.  So therefore maybe we, the church, should heed God’s words spoken at the Mount of Transfiguration, “This is my Son (The Word) whom I love.  Listen to Him!”

Could we find a better New Year’s Resolution than this?  “Listen to Him!”

Leave a Reply

