His Word Speaks to His Children

As I promised you some weeks ago, I would not write unless I truly felt I had something to share from the Spirit’s promptings.  I don’t wish to waste your time nor do I want to dishonor my Lord with ramblings from my own feeble brain.

These past two days as I have sought to write a blog about hearing God through His Word, I keep getting nothing even though this is one of my favorite topics to teach.   I have heard Him more clearly from His Word than any other mode of communication.  I have been blessed with amazing testimonies covering 20+ years of sitting at the feet of the Author.

So here is what I have decided to do.  Today I am sharing with you a handout I have used in many classes and as an appendix in my book.  It will give you a simple outline of how God uses His Word to communicate to our hearts.  Then in the coming weeks, I will share some personal testimonies from my own journey with Him along with some practical tips.

“All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.”  2 Timothy 3:16

PRAY!

  • Asking God to remove all hindrances to His speaking.  (Hindrances include:  doubt—James 4:8; sin—Psalm 66:18; indifference—Matthew 5:6)
  • Ask God to remove all preconceived ideas about the Scripture passage and
  • Show you what He wants you to know

 

READ SCRIPTURE UNTIL HE STOPS YOU!

  • Sometimes He will give us a new thought from an old, familiar verse or passage;
  • Other times a single word or several words will seem to be in bold print,
  • Other words on the page are blurred, or our eyes continue to repeat a passage;
  • Or we feel a gentle nudge from God.
  • Sometimes He thunders a reproof, and
  • Sometimes He whispers assurance.

 

STOP READING AND MEDITATE ON WHAT GOD IS SAYING!

 

  • Underline and date what God is saying.
  • Write the first words that come to you in the margin.
  • Meditate on the passage or word.  (Repeat it over and over highlighting each word until you fully understand what He is saying.)

PRAY ASKING GOD TO SHOW YOU WHAT HE WANTS YOU TO DO NOW!

 

  • Ask God to tell you personally what He wants from this verse in your life.
  • Ask how this verse can change your life.  Pray, “Lord, Change me.”
  • Sit still and listen.  Don’t rush God.

WRITE DOWN IN YOUR SPIRITUAL JOURNAL WHAT GOD HAS SAID!

 

  • Record in a journal everything you are feeling and hearing in your heart.
  • Write your prayer to God.  (This keeps you focused and gives a record for His answers to come.)

MAKE A COMMITMENT!

 

  • Pray and/or write your commitment to be obedient to His voice.
  • Just do it!

 

“Do not merely listen to the Word, and so deceive yourselves.  Do what is says.  Anyone who listens to the Word but does not do what it says is like the man who looks at his face in a mirror and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like.  But the man who looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues to do this, not forgetting what he has heard, but doing it—he will be blessed in what he does.”  James 1:22-25

I pray this outline will be helpful to you in the coming weeks, months, and years.  It has served me well in my personal walk.  Remember to have the heart of John the Baptist as you read.

To this John replied, “A man can receive only what is given him from heaven.  You yourselves can testify that I said ‘I am not he Christ but am sent ahead of him’.  The bride belongs to the bridegroom.  The friend who attends the bridegroom waits and listens for him, and is full of joy when he hears the bridegroom’s voice.  That joy is mine, and it is now complete.  He must become greater; I must become less.  John 3:27-30

May the Lord Almighty, our Precious Bridegroom, speak to you and make your joy complete.

A personal note:  We are trying once again to get a little vacation time.  So next week I won’t be posting on Monday or Wednesday.  Also, this week I will post on Saturday and not Friday because I want to share with you our Circle City St. Patrick’s Day parade highlights.  I promise you it is small town America at its best.  😉

4 responses

  1. Jackie Kennell | Reply

    Thank you Shelia. Great help.

    1. Thanks Jackie and thanks also for the Facebook posts about the book. My motivation for all this is for believers to experience Him in passionate ways.

  2. Thank you Sheila for posting this “fresh reminder” on how to seek Gods word with obedient diligence!

    1. I thank you for always being that beacon of joy and encouragement. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

