He’s my Friend

Today has been one of those days.  Actually it is has been one of those weeks.  The pressures of deadlines are looming over me and I am overwhelmed.   I can’t count the number of times I have wanted to scream, run away, and never return.

But every time my flesh would start to cave in, my soul would start to sing.

Jesus is all the world to me.  My life, my joy, my all;

He is my strength from day to day, Without Him I would fall.

Through many seasons of trials and struggles, I have seen Him calm storms I felt would consume me.  Each one has served me well and I am much stronger in handling the crisis of life.

Jesus is all the world to me.  My friend in trials sore;

I go to Him for blessings, and He gives them o’er and o’er.

I have learned to trust Him in times of pit dwelling.  I have spent a large periods of my life slugging around in the murk and mire of pits.  But He has always been faithful to pull me out, clean me up, and set my feet on solid ground again.

When I am sad, to Him I go; No other one can cheer me so;

When I am sad, He makes me glad; He’s my friend.

 

Of course, there are those mountaintop experiences where He takes me to heights beyond all explanation.  These are the times I wish could never end.

Beautiful life with such a friend, Beautiful life that has no end;

Eternal life, eternal joy; He’s my friend.

 

But this week is none of the above.  This is a season of drudgery.  Life at its worse for me.  I am a person of extremes.  I don’t do well with the day-in-and-day-out of just work, work, and more work.  Busyness is my curse word.

I have proposals to write, reports to submit, and projects to complete for the Southern Baptist National Convention.  Add to that the weekly chores of coordinating the women’s and children’s ministries of our church.  Pile on top of that an extensive to-do list to have accomplished before our grandson arrives.  I make myself exhausted just reading the list.  When am I ever going to find the time to study and prepare my heart to teach at this weekend’s retreat?  I see a few more all-nighters on the calendar this week.

Following Him, I know I’m right, He watches o’er me day and night;

Following Him, by day and night; He’s my friend.

So how is it I can sing?  The answer is simple.  He’s my friend.

He is the perfect friend who knows how to crash into my day at just the right time with just the right words.  He knows me better than I know myself.

He is the friend who not only cheers me on but also provides for my every need.  He has guided my thoughts and fingers as I have typed page after page today.

He is the eternal friend that knows what tomorrow will bring therefore He directs my focus each minute so that no time is wasted and I have every task properly prioritized.

His friendship is my comfort.  I am confident this season will end.  At its end, my Friend and I will perform a victory dance.

We will get through this together and at the end, He’s giving me an extreme high.  My first grandbaby!

Oh, what a friend!

4 responses

  1. Loved this! It’s encouraging to hear about your pit dwelling and to know I have comany. The words to the song, Jesus is all the Wold to me, encourage me so much. We truly can sing but Jesus is our Friend. Love ya!

    1. Can’t wait to have lunch with you this week. It’s gonna be great girl time!

  2. To write like that when you are overwhelmed (maybe “in the pits”) is phenomenal. God has truly given you the gift.
    I would offer to do anything for you to help, but I have no gifts in the area of your needs. I can PRAY! That, I will do. You will get through all of this just like you have always survived, conquered and won. Jesus Shall Reign. Thank you Lord.

    1. Thanks Ruth, you are always the sweetest encourager. Yesterday was a breakthrough day for me. I finished the design of the convention prayer room and the placards for the prayerwalk. Hopefully today I can finish the prayer booklet and the worse will be over. I’m so trying to get everything finished by Friday so that next week I can focus on the arrival of Eli. Thanks for the prayers!

Leave a Reply

