Go, Go, Go, and enjoy!

I didn’t post yesterday because I was with my little Eli.  When we’re together, the world seems to stop.  I love that!

So today, I would like to share a bit of encouragement with you.  I am fairly certain, someone out there needs a cheerleader.

In my study this week through Ezra and Nehemiah, I realized how our lives are so often like the saying, “Two steps forward and one step backward.”  Anyone feel like that today?  Many days for me are more like, “One step forward and a dozen steps backward .”  As I read, I heard God say that the goal is to be like Nehemiah and his workers and simply persevere.

God often describes sinners with two words:  arrogant and deceived.  The arrogant know the truth but choose to rebel.  The deceived are blinded to the truth by the evil one.  I suppose we should never use the saying, “how could I (or they) be so dumb?”  Attributing dumbness for sin assumes an excuse.  There are no acceptable excuses before the Holy One.

As a believer, if I say,  “I love the Lord and truly want to serve Him.”   YET I continue to live my life unchanged, then I am arrogant and rebellious.

A believer who says, “I love the Lord and truly want to serve Him.”   YET  ‘takes two steps forward and one step backward’, strives to stay focused, struggles with strongholds, battles personal enemies, repents when sinful and keeps striving forward, then he/she is neither arrogant or deceived.

Here is what encouraged me:  God is responsible for the end result.  We shouldn’t judge ourselves based on how near we see ourselves to the finished product  of Christlikeness.  By those standards we will never be satisfied or for that matter, we will never be happy.  Rest in the truth that God is looking at our hearts, our intentions, and our passionate drive.  If we are daily committed to Him, then we can daily hear ‘well done.

When we fall backward, He will pick us up.

When we struggle, He will be our strength.

When we are at war with evil, He will fight for us.

When we repent, He is nearest to us than any other time.  Isaiah 57:15.

So are you on the narrow road and facing in the right direction with a heart that beats for the Lord?  Then open you ears and hear Him pour out His love song to you!  He delights in your progress.  Celebrate today with singing and dancing.

Nehemiah said, “Go and enjoy choice food and sweet drinks, and send some to those who have nothing prepared.  This day is sacred to our Lord.  Do not grieve, for the joy of the LORD is your strength.” …Then all the people went away to eat and drink, to send portions of food and to celebrate with great joy, because they now understood the words that had been made known to them.  Nehemiah 8:10-12

Leave a Reply

