Christian, go ahead, be a baby!

I have been sick all week.  Summer colds can be the worst.  The weather is great, my garden is growing, and I am too sick to enjoy.  Besides that, next week is the start of Crossover and then the SBC convention is in town.  My to-do list is now an ever expanding book that had to be ignored all week.

But the most frustrating part of being sick is that I can’t see Eli.  I have had to battle my selfish desires.  I actually considered going anyway.  Selfishness told me I had to because he needed me and he might change in two weeks.  Selflessness told me that I never want him to feel as bad as I am feeling right now.  So I prayed and God’s will was given.

Selfishness pouted because selflessness won.

Eli is only two months old but he has already taught me many lessons.  I watch how dependent he is and wonder how I could live that dependently on my Lord.

Could I trust the Lord alone to feed and clothe me?

Could I trust Him to take me where I need to be without questioning His judgment?

Could I be satisfied with what is placed before me and not even see nor care about the world beyond that limited vision?

Living like an infant is hard to imagine for adults who pride themselves on self-sufficiency.   Being a baby is much like being in a hospital after a major surgery or stroke and unable to do anything for yourself.  Every need has to be met by someone else.  This is a most humbling experience for the human spirit.

I never thought of babies as being humble but by this definition they are the perfect example.

Humility–before God;  equals total dependency–upon God.

When Eli is upset, he pouts.

When Eli is scared, hungry, or hurting, he cries.

And in all these things, his strong and loving daddy scoops him up in his arms and delights in making all things good for Eli.

Sweet isn’t it?  Now, close your eyes and picture yourself being cuddled in the arms of the Great Shepherd.

He tends his flock like a shepherd:  He gathers the lambs in his arms and carries them close to his heart; he gently leads those that have young.  Isaiah 40:11

This image makes humility a far more desirable trait. Doesn’t it?

Father, I desire to me like Eli:  an infant totally dependent and completely trusting.  I choose to humble myself and place my life in your strong and loving hands. 

 

I can see the delight in His face, the laughter in His voice, and the warmth of His embrace and He dances across the golden ballroom of heaven with me in His arms.

The LORD your God is with you, he is mighty to save.  He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.  Zephaniah 3:17

 

In case you are having difficulty believing God could delight so much in holding you, read on.

Which of you, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone?  Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake?  If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!  Matthew 7:9-11

 

Our minds cannot even begin to imagine the how much more God will do for us if we would just humbly ask Him.  So go ahead.

Be a baby! 

Humble yourself before the Lord and He will lift you up.  James 4:10

Leave a Reply

