Behind the eye

If you believe that Satan is running loose outside God’s sovereign control and you are left on this earth to battle him and his forces, then there is nothing I can say that will give you relief from your daily struggles.  He is too powerful and you are too weak to win the war.

If you believe that you found God, then you will also believe that you can lose God.  There is nothing I can offer to strengthen you through your despair.

If you believe that God created the universe and now sits on the Throne inactive in the day-to-day details of life, then there is no encouragement I can give.  You are alone and you will fail to sustain hope.

But if you believe that God is sovereign over the entire universe.  That He is active in every detail.  That He keeps Satan and his demons on a short leash.  That He chose you and has His plan for your life that He will complete.  Then, I can give you hope for a life of victory over this world of chaos and pain.

Your worldview and your doctrine are paramount on how you handle stress and struggles.  When I was given that dream and shook to the core of my being, I had to seek the truth.  Was God Sovereign or not?  I turned to Revelation for the answer.

The book reads like a horror movie unleashed on planet earth.  The trilogy of the evil empire has its time of destruction and death.  Yet the name of the book is, The Revealing of Jesus Christ. 

Do you know what Kelly saw when she looked into the eyes of the beast?  She saw the short leash of God holding him at bay.  John the Revelator saw behind the eyes, so to speak, and revealed to us how God orchestrates all things for His divine and good purposes.    Yeah, it’s when I add ‘good’ that we cringe.  How can anything evil ever be considered good?  When it is in the Sovereign hands of God.

There are scholars far wiser than me that say it far better.

Divine sovereignty is not the sovereignty of a tyrannical Despot, but the exercised pleasure of One who is infinitely wise and good!  Because God is infinitely wise He cannot err, and because He is infinitely righteous He will not do wrong.  Here then is the preciousness of this truth.  The mere fact itself that God’s will is irresistible and irreversible fills me with fear, but once I realize that God wills only that which is good, my heart is made to rejoice.

—Arthur W. Pink

 

No doubt all history in the last resort must be held by Christians to be a story with a divine plot. – C.S. Lewis

All the dogs of affliction are muzzled until God sets them free. 2098.429

– Charles Spurgeon

In efficacious grace we are not merely passive, nor yet does God do some and we do the rest. But God does all, and we do all. God produces all, we act all. For that is what produces, viz. our own acts. God is the only proper author and fountain; we only are the proper actors. We are in different respects, wholly passive and wholly active.  – Jonathan Edwards

Then I praised the Most High; I honored and glorified him who lives forever.  His dominion is an eternal dominion; his kingdom endures from generation to generation.  All the peoples of the earth are regarded as nothing.  He does as he pleases with the powers of heaven and the peoples of the earth.  No one can hold back his hand or say to him: “What have you done?”   – Nebuchadnezzar

But no one says it as well as God Himself. 

“I am the LORD, and there is no other; apart from me there is no God, I will strengthen you, though you have not acknowledged me, so that from the rising of the sun to the place of its setting men may know there is none besides me.  I am the LORD, and there is no other, I form the light and create darkness, I bring prosperity and create disaster.  I, the LORD, do all these things.  Isaiah 45:5-7

“You are my witnesses,” declares the LORD, “that I am God.  Yes, and from ancient days I am he.  No one can deliver out of my hand.  When I act, who can reverse it?”  Isaiah 43:13

Do you not know?  Have you not heard?  Has it not been told you from the beginning?  Have you not understood since the earth was founded?  He sits enthroned above the circle of the earth, and its people are like grasshoppers.  He stretches out the heavens like a canopy, and spreads them out like a tent to live in.  He brings princes to naught and reduces the rulers of this world to nothing…”To whom will you compare me?  Or who is my equal?” says the Holy One.  Isaiah 40:21-25

When you will settle the issue of His Sovereignty in your heart and mind, then your prayer life will be forever changed.

Instead of a steady chorus of:

  • Why Lord?  Why me?
  • Take this away or take me away.
  • Stop this and bind him
  • Are you there? What don’t you help me?

You will learn to pray:

  • I don’t understand, but I trust You.
  • How are you making me like Jesus in this?
  • Send me wherever and use me however.
  • Open my eyes so I can see Jesus.

With opened eyes, you can walk through the flames in peaceful power.

Leave a Reply

