Repentance is a Gift

I decided before moving on to the next step in this series of dealing with stress,  I would share this page from my book, In the Garden. 

 

I am passionate for His holiness.  I see a breakdown in our churches in the area of teaching true repentance for the believer.  Maybe this will help as the Spirit of God convicts our hearts as we read His Word.

Steps to true repentance:

1 John 1:8  If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us.

Father, I admit to you that ____________ is a sin in Your sight.  I will no longer make excuses.

Psalm 51:4 Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight, so that you are proved right when you speak and justified when you judge.

I see now that this is a vile, rebellious act against Your holiness.

2 Corinthians 7:10  Godly sorrow brings repentance that leads to salvation and leaves no regret, but worldly sorrow brings death.

Father, open my heart to see this sin from Your perspective, help me to see the pain Jesus endured with this sin on the cross, let me know the ugliness of it so that I will want to vomit it out and never return to it.

 

Matthew 5:30  And if your right hand causes you to sin, cut it off and throw it away.  It is better for you to lose one part of your body than for your whole body to go into hell.

Show me those things in my life that have led me into this sin.  Show me the thought processes, habits, friends, media, addictions, whatever it may be that I have to cut from my life.

 

Revelation 2:5a  Remember the height from which you have fallen!  Repent and do the things you did at first.

            Father, I renounce all these things in my life and with Your strength and guidance I choose this day to start anew.  Keep me in Your Word and on my knees in prayer.  Open my ears to hear Your voice and give me a heart to obey immediately.  Pick me up when I stumble and put me on the path again.

 

Matthew 5:23-24  “Therefore, if you are offering your gift at the altar and there remember that your brother has something against you, leave your gift there in front of the altar.  First go and be reconciled to your brother; then come and offer your gift.”

            Show me all relationships and persons that this sin has harmed.  Guide me to ask forgiveness from them and to make restitution and reconciliation that will bring healing and glory to Your name.

 

1 John 1:9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

            Thank you, Precious Lord for Your grace that frees me from the guilt and shame of this sin.  Thank You for Your blood that washes me white as snow.  Thank You…

Leave a Reply

