A Balanced Week

What a week.  I soared across the water and plunged head first into its depths.  Then I had open-heart surgery, the spiritual kind.

Great family fun on the lake, special Eli moments, celebration of Tori’s birthday, and lots of rest running parallel with God’s voice twisting my heart and squeezing out the fleshly vileness.

This blog will show that parallel life.  On one side, I hope you enjoy fun pictures.  On the other, I will share quotes from my week’s reading that encouraged and challenged me.  Maybe they will touch your soul as they did mine.

(Pics in order:  Happy birthday Tori!; Me on skis; Andrew & Morgan; Dustin skiing; Where’s Mike?;  Andrew’s catch; Eli at Gramma’s house; Mike and his favs)

From Experiencing God by Dr Henry Blackaby:

If you have an obedience problem, you have a love problem.

You will not obey Him, if you do not believe Him and trust Him.

You will not believe Him if you do not love Him.

You cannot love Him unless you know Him

The crowd was not the harvest field.  The harvest field was within the crowd.

You can’t imagine a prayer that comes close to what God wants to give you.

Frequently, the reason we do not join God is because we are not committed to join Him.  We want God to bless us, not work through us.

O God, if I ever ask You for one thing and You have more to give me than I am asking, please cancel my request!

The biggest problem with planning is that we often plan and carry out things in our own wisdom that only God has a right to determine.  We cannot know the when, where, or how of God’s will until He tells us.  Just because we accomplished our plans does not mean we are pleasing to God.

From Returning to Holiness by Dr. Greg Frizzell:

The attitude of lukewarmness literally nauseates God.  We must understand that the root of all sin is a lack of fervent love for Christ.  The very root of sin is the love and worship of self over God.

Friend, if you are not focused on continually deepening your prayer life and Bible study, then you are not pursuing holiness.

The fact that God could bring catastrophic judgement seems never to cross the minds of most modern saints.

From The Practice of the Presence of God by Brother Lawrence

that he has spent in religion to be always with God, and to do nothing, say nothing, and think nothing which may displease Him, and this without any other view than purely for the love of HIm, and because He deserves infinitely more.

I consider myself as the most wretched of men, full of sores and corruption, and who has committed all sorts of crimes against his King. Touched with a sensible regret, I confess to HIm all my wickedness, I ask His forgiveness, I abandon myself  in His hands that He may do what He pleases with me.  The King, full of mercy and goodness, very far from chastising me, embraces me with love, makes me eat at His table, serves me with His own hands, gives me the key of His treasures; He converses and delights Himself with me incessantly, in a thousand and a thousand ways, and treats me in all respects as His favorite. It is thus I consider myself from time to time in His  holy presence.

Leave a Reply

