Satan’s Temptation or God’s Direction?

What do we do when we have more than one great option set before us?

It’s only January 2012 and we’re already inundated with offers for new and exciting things.   Some are small, others huge life changing choices.

We’ve not solicited any of them.  We’ve continued on our daily path doing the daily duties and then one after another, offers come in.

All of them are good things.

All could be God honoring.

All are exciting.

But we have to choice one.

How do we determine the good from God’s best?  The teachings of George Mueller are the most effective in these situations.

In a little tract entitled “how to ascertain the will of God” Mueller wrote:

 

I seek at the beginning to get my heart in such a state that it has no will of its own in regard to a given matter.  Nine tenths of the trouble with people generally is just here.  Nine tenths of the difficulties are overcome when our hearts are ready to do the Lord’s will, whatever it may be.  When one is truly in this state, it is usually but a little way to the knowledge of what His will is.

 

Having done this, I do not leave the result to feeling or simple impression.  If so, I make myself liable to great delusions.

 

I seek the will of the Spirit of God through, or in connection with, the Word of God.  The Spirit and the Word must be combined.  If I look to the Spirit alone without the Word, I lay myself open to great delusions also.  If the Holy Spirit guides us at all, He will do it according to the Scriptures and never contrary to them.

 

Next I take into account providential circumstances.  These often plainly indicate God’s will in connection with His Word and Spirit.

 

I ask God in prayer to reveal His will to me aright.

 

Thus through prayer to God, the study of the Word, and reflection, I come to a deliberate judgment according to the best of my ability and knowledge; and if my mind is thus at peace, and continues so after two or three more petitions, I proceed accordingly.  In trivial matters, and in transactions involving most important issues, I have found this method always effective.

I do not wish to diminish anyone’s struggles for I have endured countless seasons of pit dwelling pain.  But in those times, the decision was simple.  There was only one way out and it was up.

But what do we do when life is good, His blessings abound, and then out of nowhere He speaks of a new thing coming?  That in itself is thrilling.  Until the coming weeks bring option upon option and you have to discern which is His best.

Does God give you lots of options and you get to choose?  Will He bless whatever choice is made?  Once a believer is fully devoted to the Lord, can he/she then make a mistake when choosing between good options?

Or does the enemy take advantage of these times to throw his tempting distractions in your path in hopes you will miss God’s perfect will?  Satan doesn’t play fair and nothing would delight him more than to see believers falling into a pit of despair.

Anyone else relate?

I’ve decided I can’t choose.  I can’t even die to self as Mueller suggested.  Therefore I have only one option left.  I can worship God Almighty.

Somehow, I know that’s the right choice.

Shout for joy to the LORD, all the earth,

Worship the LORD with gladness; come before Him with joyful songs.

Know that the LORD is God,

It is He who made us, and we are His.

We are His people, the sheep of His pasture.

Enter His gates with thanksgiving and His courts with praise;

Give thanks to Him and praise His name.

For the LORD is good and His love endures forever;

His faithfulness continues through all generations.

Psalm 100

One response

  1. Sheila, thank you for sharing this blog message – Excellent! I first heard about George Mueller when I studied Experiencing God. What faith and trust he had to meet all the needs he had with the orphanage!

    Keep on keeping on for Jesus,
    Marty Dobkins
    marty@marjimbooks.com
    (formerly Phx – now in Prescott)

Leave a Reply

