Good News, Sad News

I’ve heard it said that for believers, no bad things happen to them.  Yes, sad things will happen, but there are never bad things from God’s sovereign hand.  This has been a week that challenged my faith in those words.

Some seasons of life require more faith in the goodness and power of our Lord.  For me, each day this week was a constant need to recite Romans 8:28.  And we know that in all things God works for the good for those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.

When that verse didn’t work, I’d go for a worship walk:  Trust and obey for there’s no other way to be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey.

Yes, it’s been one of those weeks full of good news and sad news.

Sad news:  Andrew and Morgan caught this awful flu bug just days before they were scheduled to leave on their much anticipated New Zealand vacation.

Good news:  The medicines worked and they are well enough to travel.  Please pray for strong bodies, great adventures, and safe travel.

My new kitchen

Good news:  We bought a second home on the lake at Dobson Ranch.  It is perfectly situation between our kids’ homes and the community offers plenty of water fun for the grandchildren.  Our plan is to spend half of each week in this home so that Mike can begin to grow the ministry in downtown Phoenix.  For me, it’s the Gramma’s house I’ve always dreamed of having.

Sad news:  The appraisal on the house came in much higher than we hoped.  It seems we always have to pay top dollar.  But then again, it’s all God’s money and if He wants to give extra to the seller then who am I to argue.

Good news:  I aced the heart scan!  Yes, after being told I showed signs of heart disease, I settled the matter at the AZ Heart Institute.  With a grateful heart, I can report a perfect score for a healthy heart. 😉

Sad news:  Our son-in-law Dustin has been ill for some months.  He’s lost 25 pounds since November and can’t recover from pneumonia.  These red flags convinced everyone it was time for more testing.  The PET scan showed 90% change he has lymphoma.  Our hearts are sad.  We never want our children to be sick.  He will have a biopsy on Monday to determine the exact type and stage, if it is indeed cancer.

Good news:  We serve a good and loving Heavenly Father who has promised to care for our every need   Dustin is a young man of strong faith which we know God will refine to purest form during this trial.  Their marriage is strong and blessed with little Eli.  We now have a home near them to be of service if needed.

I wake every day singing and praying:  “Jesus loves me this I know for the Bible tells me so.  Little ones to Him belong.  They are weak but He is strong.”

 

My Strong Lord and Savior, we feel weak and out of control right now but I KNOW this is the perfect place to see Your mighty hand move in miraculous ways.  Show us Your glory as we rest in Your love. 

Good news:  He heard and He answered.

I thought you might enjoy a few recent pictures of Eli.

holding tight to his Valentine balloon 

too tired to play

Waiting for Winnie the Pooh

picnic with Gramma

6 responses

  1. This post made me happy for you in so many ways. Praying, Thanking God for you.
    This post made me sad about Dustin’s 90% chance diagnosis. Praying for his health to be restored .

    1. Thanks Ruth. Let’s get together soon with so much to catch up, we’ll need a big salad at Babbo’s.

    2. Thanks so much for the prayers!

  2. Oh Shelia, I’m so happy for you! That kitchen looks beautiful and what a great location. I’m sure you’ll be glad to be closer to those grand-babies. I’m also glad that you went to the AZ Heart Institute. We need to talk. I used to work there and that’s actually how I came to move to AZ many years ago.

    Love,
    Debbie

    1. Let’s get together this time. I’d love to take you to the Farm in Gilbert. When are you free?

    2. We’ll talk soon! Love ya

Leave a Reply

