The Grandest Treasure

“I strongly suspect that if we saw all the difference even the tiniest of our prayers make, and all the people those little prayers were destined to affect, and all the consequences of those prayers down through the centuries, we would be so paralyzed with awe at the power of prayer that we would be unable to get up off our knees for the rest of our lives.”  Peter Kreeft, author and professor

Amen!

I have no doubt that every word Dr. Kreeft spoke is true.  A simple prayer can toss a mountain into the sea with ripple effects to a thousand generations.  Someday in Glory we will marvel at the tsunamis of our prayers and fall prostrate at His feet overwhelmed by the majesty of it all.

But as grand as all that, prayer power is NOT the real motivation to pray.  I want answered prayers as much as you.  I need a few mountains crushed.  I desire doors opened and pathways worked in neon lights.  But if that’s the heart of why I pray then I’ve missed the grandest treasure of all.

The truest reason to pray, the motivation of every heart is to have a glorious face-to-face with the Almighty God of the Universe.  The Ancient of Days who sits upon the Throne.  The I Am that I Am.  The Creator and Sustainer of Life.  The Holy, Holy, Holy One.

I pray so that I can behold Him.

Even if He sent 10,000 angels to answer my prayer.

Even if He opened my eyes to see those 10,000 angels.

Even if I’m allowed to watch them pummel the forces of darkness.

Even if I view the angels’ dance of victory over me.

I would consider all that nothing compared to the privilege of entering His Presence in prayer.  He is the motivation and He is the very great reward.

Father, forgive me when I lose sight of the miracle of prayer. 

 

If you struggle, as I often do, maybe these tips will help us all.

  • Before uttering a word of petition, read the recorded praises in scripture.
  • Stand as you read them aloud.
  • Sing praises to Him.
  • When you fall on your knees, you are now in a glorious face-to-face.
  • Savor Him.
Leave a Reply

