A Few Good Lines

 My Creative Nonfiction class requires me to weekly post a blog, subject my choice.  So I thought it would be fun to write about movies that I enjoy.  Since I’m so swamped with homework, this blog site as been ignored…until now.  I’m going to share A Few Good Lines with you.
 images
Whether it’s the opening line, “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times…” or the closing scene, “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn;” books and movies have the power to immortalize a few good lines.
An ancient proverbial writer states that words satisfy the mind as much as fruit does the stomach; good talk is as gratifying as a good harvest.
I love a good line that embeds itself deep and then churns about until it becomes part of who I am.  I leave a theater or turn the final page satisfied when I have a nugget to cherish or ponder.  Each one becomes “my precious” keepsake.
 images
So whether “it was love at first sight” or just “elementary, my dear Watson” the few good lines I will share in this blog are my favorites.  I make no promises that they will gratify you like they do me.  But like a wise man once said, “Mama always said life was like a box of chocolates.  You never know what you’re gonna get.”
Just for fun, can you identify the lines from the following:
Forrest Gump
Proverbs 18:20
Lord of the Rings Two Towers
Charles Dickens, A Tale of Two Cities
Gone with the Wind
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
Joseph Heller, Catch-22

images

Leave a Reply

