A Knight’s Tale

1

I suggest you first watch A Knight’s Tale for the love story and humor while you cheer the underdog to victory.  Then watch it a second time with the volume maxed out and head bob to classic 1970’s rock.  Finally, read this blog and watch it a third time and ask yourself, “What am I believing?”

Two flashbacks in this film reveal the heart of the movie.  My favorite character, William’s father, can’t even be found in Google images.  While everyone else is focused on William, Adamire, Jocelyn, or Chaucer, I’m asking, “Why didn’t I have a father like John Thatcher?”

I dreamed of greatness as a young girl.  So did William. “Someday I’ll be a knight.”  The cynic in pillory, played by my father, said, “A Thatcher’s son?  A knight? You might as well try to change the stars, ha”

2William asked his father, “Can it be done Father?  Can a man change the stars?”  Oh, how I love John’s answer, “Yes, William.  If he believes enough, a man can do anything.”

Yes!

But even these words left alone are worthless and empty.  Words are only powerful tools when engaged with action.  John Thatcher knew to make his son believe enough, he had to make the ultimate sacrifice of proof.  He gave William to a knight and left these final words to guide him, “It’s all I can do for you son.  Now go, change your stars and live a better life than I have.”

Behind this scene I see a father who reached into his chest and ripped out his heart, slammed it on the altar then sliced it in half.  But William started believing that moment and he never ran away from the challenge.  He changed his stars, became the greatest knight of his time and won the heart of royalty.

3I’ve heard my Heavenly Father say, “Believe me!  I chose you and made you my warrior princess.  You are my beloved child, pure and blameless in my sight.  Now believe me.  Live it.”  He proved His words by coming into this wickedness and enduring a brutal death on a rugged cross.   His sinless blood washed me clean and validated His claims.

If I believe, my enemies will ask like William’s archenemy Adamire, “How would you beat her?”  The answer would knock them flat on their backs, “That woman is unbeatable.”

Yes!

Take that! voices in my head, skeptics, and demons for “you have been measured, you have been weighed, and you have been found wanting.”  Welcome to my new world.

4

Leave a Reply

